Progress


I was breathing heavily, but my legs didn’t want to stop crunching uphill. There’s something smooth in finding your stride, your pace, varying easily with changes in the terrain. But one month ago, it took everything I had to throw myself up this road in the Whites, legs churning, lungs burning, stopping occasionally to catch my ragged breath. Tonight, as the sun crept behind the thin veil of clouds hovering over the Crest, I just smiled in an odd sort of wonder of the feeling that has emerged in my legs once more. At the Tower, I marched right on by, the wind from the southwest lapping at my heels, blowing a few drops of sweat into my face as I traversed to the final steep climb above. I reached the upper towers, then up to the lump just beyond to top out. I quickly dug out the GPS: 1800 vertical feet in 1 hour, 3 minutes. Next time, no stopping to blow my nose.

For the month of January: 96.78 miles walked. 31,137 vertical feet.

Penny per foot: $311.37

And that’s without any “big” days, mostly training and some walks on the weekends.

It only gets bigger from here.

7 Responses to “Progress”

  1. Averaging 1000 feet per day in the off-season is pretty good. You were so close to 31337, though…
    (see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leet ).

  2. Sam Roberts Says:

    Go big or go home! Way to go, Laura!

  3. emiliecortes12 Says:

    nice job, chica! sounds like i’m going to have trouble keeping up with you as i get my legs back, so to speak. πŸ™‚

  4. emiliecortes12 Says:

    that’s most excellent news! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

